Tuesday 26 October 2021
List of Top Five Super Overs in IPL History
April 3, 2021 | By - Ankita Singh

List of Top Five Super Overs in IPL History

Indian Premier League is an emotion that kept people and families intact during the nationwide lockdown last year. The tournament added joy during the dark days of 2020. It was the time when people not only lost their jobs but lost their loved ones too. Now, its Indian Premier League heading towards the new season ‘IPL 2021’, which strives to bring that joy and excitement again.

One of the best parts of IPL is uncertainty and SUPER OVER is that surprising factor, cricket fans wait for. But what is SUPER OVER? The ‘One Over Eliminator’ played to obtain a result in case a limited-overs (20) match ends in a tie. The team with the highest number of runs in one over wins the match. What happens if a Super Over is tied? Another Super Over will be played until one team scores the most runs.

Before the start of IPL 2021, look out at the list of top five Super Overs in IPL history that chained cricket fans.

Rajasthan Royals VS Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2009 season

Rajasthan Royals

The first-ever Super Over in the Indian Premier League happened in the 2009 season between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) in South Africa. The match ended with a tie and both teams scored 150 runs in their respective 20 overs. Cricket fans witnessed an amazing knock from former cricketer Sourav Ganguly, who scored 46 runs off 30 balls. 

Following a tie, KKR in the Super Over scored 15 runs with Chris Gayle hitting three fours. And from Rajasthan Royals, Yusuf Pathan smashed the required 16 runs in only four balls. Pathan’s smashing performance helped Rajasthan Royals win the game, making history and becoming the first team to won IPL Super Over.

Chennai Super Kings VS Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2010 season

Chennai Super Kings

One of the crucial and interesting matches in the history of the Indian Premier League. Fans glued their eye at the ground as world-class cricketers MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh were trying to clinch the match in two limited overs. KXIP took batting first and scored 130 runs in 20 overs.

CSK came strong at the beginning of the game, scored 97 runs after losing two wickets in 12.5 overs. But in net 30 balls, they lost six wickets, needed 10 runs in the final over. However, CSK batsman can only score 9 and the match was tied. 

SO, IT WAS SUPER OVER TIME! Batting first in Super Over, Chennai scored 10 runs with the help of Suresh Raina. KXIP easily chased the target with Mahela Jayawardene scoring 6 runs and Yuvraj scoring the rest. This made KXIP, the second team to win Super ver in IPL.

Royal Challengers Bangalore VS Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2013 season

Royal Challengers

IPL 2013 was a jaw-dropping season. It was the second Super Over of the tournament and second for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the same year. RCB was playing against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and they already lost the previous match in Super Over elimination by 5 runs.

Daredevils managed to score 152 runs after losing five wickets in 20 overs. All batsmen chipped in some runs, but the partnership between Irfan Pathan and Jadhav of 30 runs was significant. RCB with batsmen Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers scored 103 runs before losing the third wicket. But, suddenly RCB saw wickets and balls losing one by one, leading to a tie.

Tie mean SUPER OVER! RCB scored 15 runs. Daredevils could not reach the target and scored 12 runs. RCB bowler Ravi Rampaul restricted Delhi batsmen, taking over two wickets in a row. This led to the win for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2013 super over.

Mumbai Indians VS Gujarat Lions in the 2017 season

IPL 2021

WHAT A MATCH! Jasprit Bumrah’s exceptional bowling saved Mumbai Indians again in the death over along with a Super Over. Gujarat Lions now-defunct team took batting first and managed to score 153 runs with a loss of nine wickets in 20 overs. But, surprisingly bowling performance of Basil Thampy turned the entire game upside down as he bagged two wickets in the 19th over.

The crisp, nail-biting final over led to a tie, taking the match into ‘SUPER OVER’. Mumbai Indians took the batting and Kieron Pollard on the field scored 11 runs. Here comes Bumrah again, his bowling skills restricted KXIP batsman, they scored only five runs in one over. Mumbai snatched the match and win by five runs.

Kings XI Punjab VS Mumbai Indians in the 2020 season

Indian Premier League

This was the first time in IPL history that the day went into two Super Over. Mumbai Indians against Kings XI Punjab in Dubai was a heart-stopper match. Cricket fans saw boundaries after boundaries, hit by Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle off Trent Boult bowling. Batting first Mumbai scored 176 runs after losing six wickets in the allotted 20 overs. 

Deepak Hooda batting for the first time in IPL 2020 for Kings XI Punjab scored 23 and not out. However, KXIP failed to reach the target of 176 runs and ran into the first Super Over. In the first Super Over both teams have scored five runs each, thus forcing another Super Over, which KXIP won.

Super Over is an exceptional part of the Indian Premier League that makes it more interesting and exciting. Like the entire tournament, Super Over has also a set of rules to follow based on which the winner is decided. Hope the list of best Super Overs in Indian Premier League history made you more excited for the upcoming season IPL 2021.

To be up-to-date with IPL’s latest news and facts, follow the short news application AlShorts, which offers news just in 60 words. Not just news in 30 seconds but it brings full-fledged and detailed blogs on trending topics like COVID-19, IPL 2021, and more.


Optimized with PageSpeed Ninja