Tuesday 26 October 2021
IPL 2020: All You Need To Know About Purple Cap
October 1, 2020 | By - Amit

IPL 2020: All You Need To Know About Purple Cap

Indian Premier League (IPL) is going to be held outside India for the second time and this time the UAE has invited the BCCI to do this thrilling adventure in their country. Emirates Cricket Board has a great experience in conducting cricket series. 

Since the announcement of IPL in UAE, fans across the world have gone crazy and eager to watch their favourite cricketers in action. 

Every year one highest wicket-taker of the IPL tournament took the prestigious Purple Cap home. Playing for Deccan Chargers (Now Sunrisers Hyderabad ) Siddarth Kaul was the first who wore the Purple Cap and CSK’s Sohil Tanvir was the first bowler who won the Purple Cap at the end of the tournament. 

Here’s the history of Purple Cap Holders

2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)

Pakistan’s left-arm pacer Sohil Tanvir shocked the entire world by his extraordinary swing and awkward run-up in the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL). Tanvir was the favourite pacer of skipper Shane Warne who helped Rajasthan Royals to lift the first trophy of IPL.  

His unprecedented 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is still the best performance of IPL history.

Tanvir took 22 wickets in just 11 matches while playing for Rajasthan Royals. He was the first bowler who took Purple Cap home. 

2009 – RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)

Rudra Pratap Singh was the leading wicket-taker in the second season of IPL. He played a major role in helping the Deccan Chargers to bag the 2009 IPL trophy. 

RP Singh, who took 4 wickets against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in his first match of 2009 IPL did not look back throughout the season.

With a strike rate of 15.56 and an economy of 6.98, RP Singh became the best bowler of IPL 2009, taking 22 wickets in just 16 games for his IPL franchise Deccan Chargers.  

2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

India’s former spinner Pragyan Ojha surprised everyone by his impressive performance in 2010 IPL. Ojha’s best bowling performance was 3/26 against Mumbai Indians in the tournament. 

Chennai Super Kings bagged the trophy but Ojha took Purple Cap home for picking up  

 22 wickets in 16 games in 2010 IPL. After RP Singh, Ojha was the second bowler of Deccan Chargers who won the Purple Cap.  

2011 – Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

Sri Lankan seamer Lasith Malinga started his game with 5-wickets haul against Delhi Daredevils in 2011 IPL. Malinga, who was the backbone of Mumbai Indians, shined throughout the 2011 short format IPL tournament by his impressive performance. 

He became the most wicket-takers in the fourth season of IPL, taking 27 wickets with 13.39 strike rate in that tournament and won the Purple Cap. 

2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)

It was the time of Morne Morkel, who bagged the Purple Cap in 2012 IPL tournament.   

South African right-arm fast bowler Morkel picked up a total of 25 wickets in the fifth season of IPL. 

He was the first from Delhi Daredevils’ side who took Purple Cap home. His best figure in the tournament was 4/20 against Kings Xi Punjab. 

2013 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

In 2013, West Indies’ all-rounder Dwane Bravo impressed everyone by his unprecedented performance in the sixth IPL tournament. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) reached the final with the help of Bravo’s colossal performance in the sixth IPL tournament.

With 32 wickets, Bravo made the highest wicket-taking record in IPL history. His best performance was 4/42 against Mumbai Indians in the final.

2014 – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)

The right-arm pacer from India’s Haryana state, Mohit Sharma was the best bowler during the 2014 IPL season. He wore the Purple Cap for taking 23 highest wickets in just 16 matches of the tournament. 

2015 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

After one year, Caribbean all-rounder Bravo again proved his potential by taking the highest wickets in the tournament. His charismatic performance helped CSK to take the final of the season but was not able to win against Mumbai in 2015

Bravo took 26 wickets in that season and became the first bowler to win the Purple Cap for the second time. 

2016 & 2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the leading wicket-taker for the two consecutive seasons of IPL. In 2016,  he took 23 wickets in 17 games and helped his team Sunrisers to bag the IPL trophy for the second time. 

However, he continued to stand at the top spot in the list of highest wicket-takers in 2017 IPL. He picked up 26 wickets and won the Purple Cap for the second time.  

2018 — Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)

Australian medium-fast bowler Andrew Tye shined throughout the 2018 IPL tournament. Playing for the Kings XI Punjab, it was his maiden IPL series and he managed to win Purple Cap. 

He collected  24 wickets in just 14 games. His best clinical performance was 4/16 against Mumbai Indians.

2019- Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)

South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir was the highest wicket-taker in last season of IPL. Tahir, who helped CSK to take the final in the 2019 tournament, picked up 26 wickets in 15 games and took Purple Cap home.   


Fans are now waiting for IPL 2020 to unveil the names of passionate players who will be wearing the purple caps and become true holders of the same.



Optimized with PageSpeed Ninja